September training: the final month!

img_0194

Training is slowly tapering and I’m getting closer and closer to this Iron Man and marathon being a reality! So, last months training went a little like this…

Swimming

My love/hate relationship is still going super strong πŸ˜‚ managed to get in three swims this month πŸ™ˆ But they were quality swims, so that counts rather than quantity right?

img_0782

Shoulders feeling strong in the swim- bonus. I managed my longest time in the pool, thus far of an hour and 40 mins. This enabled me to cover 3km and I was pretty damn chuffed with that! This last month of training should involve a taper of swimming. Realistically I know my taper will probably be one more swim and let that be it πŸ˜‚ did the pool win over my love? NOPE! Will I swim this far ever again after the iron man? Noooppeeee. But hey we grow stronger from doing the things we once thought we couldn’t πŸ‘πŸΌ January I swam 750m in 40minutes-progress indeed!

Bike

Cycling was far easier for me to move forward with. Short sharp speed sessions, plus some long ones has got me thoroughly prepped to survive. I hope.

img_0783

Furthest cycle thus far has been 3hrs15mins covering just over 100km. Yes I was saddle sore! How will I stay on for 80km more? By magic I reckon πŸ˜‚ quads feel strong so just got to limber them up to tackle the full distance.

Run

This part of Iron Man training has gone the best! I’m in taper mode with only 7days to go until Amsterdam Marathon. The long training runs were conquered. 18 three times, 20 once, 22 once. Also did Bristol Half as a taper and almost got a PB which shows I’m in good shape!

The aching feet and niggles held at bay. Just. Both feet every morning I wake up give me a little scream and shout when I place them on the ground, but they’re just dandy!
Time I’ll aim for at Amsterdam? Sub 4 hours I reallllyyyyy hope! Time for the Iron Man? Simply to crawl across the finish line alive and as unbroken as possible πŸ˜‚

So that’s it. 9 solid months of training, 5/6days a week, super early mornings and a lot of Weetabix and Nutella later, I’m about to do this.
Thank you to everyone who’s been supporting me this far means the world πŸ™πŸ½ If you could help in any way to sponsor me for this event in aid of Cancer Research in memory of my dad I’d really appreciate it.

http://www.uk.virginmoneygiving.com/EmmaIndoorIronMan

Happy Weekend!

πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

