2017 Goals: What’s next?

IMG_1725.JPG

It’s safe to say 2016 has been an absolute madness on the training front for me! 3 half marathons, multiple 10ks a marathon and an iron man-what a year. I don’t know about you but after I regain strength and as I ‘rest’ I have to reset my goals for what’s to come next year. There are races but also using lessons I’ve learnt from this year, I’m aiming for a sub 1:49 half marathon time as well as that mystical sub 4 hour marathon time! What’s my plan then?

Strength

The first addition I’m doing is adding 10 single leg squats on each leg before I go to sleep and when I wake up everyday. Yes even if I have done leg day the day before! Why? It’s something I tell clients every day at work. When you run, you’re only actually using one leg at a time to load. So how are you expecting those legs to hold you strong running 13-26miles if you can’t do 5 single leg squats?!

img_1505

Secondly strength related, I am to get my core as strong as physically possible! After the iron man this year I have really suffered with back problems (having never had a back problem up to now). So next year this is not happening. Strengthening has already begun on this area so just have to keep building πŸ’ͺ🏼

Plans

So next year the first half of the year is booked up! I have Bath Vitality Half Marathon, followed by Berlin Half Marathon with the girl gang and finish up with my second marathon Brighton in April! My charity challenge is still undecided because I don’t know what to do haha, so ideas welcome 😊

So here’sΒ to strength, achieving goals and kicking of 2017 being the best version of me πŸ‘ŠπŸΌ
What have you got planned?

Leave a Reply

